Microscopy: A new, more comprehensive approach

A team from the Pasteur Institute of Lille is at the origin of a world prowess. The foundation’s researchers have performed a technological tour de force by developing a novel microscopy method that makes it possible to obtain a very large amount of information on the same sample.

Researchers at the Pasteur Institute in Lille need access to the properties of matter, whether inanimate or living, such as cells. Thus, they use microscopy techniques on a daily basis to visualize objects that are barely perceptible or invisible to the naked eye.

Three main types of microscopy exist independently. In recent years, it has been possible to couple these technologies together. Today, by correlating these three types of microscopy on the same sample, researchers at the Pasteur Institute of Lille have succeeded in a real tour de force.

This new method, called CLAFEM for Correlative Light Atomic Force Electron Microscopy, allows the obtaining of diverse and more detailed information on both live and inorganic samples.

Such an approach could be used to characterize the effects of therapeutic compounds, for example. Understanding the structure of living bacteria, measuring their adhesion and behaviour in cells, will help us to develop new treatments,”explains Franck Lafont, director of the Cellular and Physical Microbiology team at the Institut Pasteur de Lille. Studies are already underway on the mechanical properties of cells during infectious, neurodegenerative or cancerous processes.

CLAFEM will allow a better understanding of how cells are affected by changes in their biophysical properties (rigidity, elasticity, adhesion, etc.) in pathologies and during aging and thus prevent the consequences will contribute to a longer life. To continue to make such discoveries, researchers need your support. If discoveries in scientific research are made every day, it is also thanks to you and your donations.

Original article: VMPL6

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Microscopie : Une nouvelle approche plus complète

Une équipe de l’Institut Pasteur de Lille est à l’origine d’une prouesse mondiale. Les chercheurs de la fondation ont réalisé un tour de force technologique en développant une méthode de microscopie inédite permettant d’obtenir un très grand nombre d’information sur un même échantillon. 

Les chercheurs de l’Institut Pasteur de Lille ont besoin d’accéder aux propriétés de la matière, inanimée ou vivante, par exemple les cellules. Ainsi, ils utilisent au quotidien les techniques de microscopie qui leur permettent de visualiser des objets à peine perceptibles ou invisibles à l’oeil nu.

Trois grands types de microscopies existent de façon indépendante. Depuis quelques années, il était possible de coupler ces technologies deux à deux. Aujourd’hui, en corrélant ces trois types de microscopies sur un même échantillon, les chercheurs de l’Institut Pasteur de Lille ont réussi un véritable tour de force.

Cette nouvelle méthode baptisée CLAFEM pour Correlative Light Atomic Force Electron Microscopy, permet l’obtention d’informations diverses et plus poussées sur des échantillons aussi bien vivants qu’inorganiques.

Une telle approche pourra être utilisée dans la caractérisation des effets de composés thérapeutiques par exemple. « Comprendre la structure des bactéries vivantes, mesurer leur adhésion et leur comportement dans les cellules, nous aidera à mettre au point de nouveaux traitements », explique Frank Lafont, directeur de l’équipe de Microbiologie Cellulaire et Physique de l’Infection à l’Institut Pasteur de Lille. Des études sont d’ores et déjà en cours sur les propriétés mécaniques des cellules lors de processus infectieux, neurodégénératifs ou cancéreux.

La CLAFEM permettra de mieux comprendre comment les cellules sont affectées par le changement de leur propriétés biophysiques (rigidité, élasticité, adhésion…) dans les pathologies et au cours du vieillissement et ainsi prévenir les conséquences contribuera à vivre mieux plus longtemps. Pour continuer à faire de telles découvertes, les chercheurs ont besoin de votre soutien. Si des découvertes dans la recherche scientifique ont lieu chaque jour, c’est aussi grâce à vous et à vos dons.

Article original : VMPL6

Laisser un commentaire